The Reliable One…

Standard
The Reliable One…

i-am-womanDecember 17, 2014

Yesterday as I was rushing my children along while they were cleaning their rooms, I thought about something… By pushing them to hurry along am I doing a good job at teaching them about quality vs. quantity? This is such an important concept to learn, it can be applied to just about everything you do in your lifetime! So in the middle of their cleaning frenzy, I made myself clear…I think…I tried explaining to them that; although, I am wanting them to clean their room in a timely manner, I am also expecting them to do it right. So, therefore, the quantity of toys they pick up isn’t necessarily as important as how well (quality) they do it. If they are just shoving a bunch of toys under their bed, that only causes more work for us later! When we are in a rush we have a tendency to overlook things, or “shelf” something for later. The quality of our work and effort is much more valuable than the quantity.

Have you ever found yourself overwhelmed with jobs? You try your best to do what you think God wants you to do, but you soon realize that you have volunteered for too many jobs and you have stretched yourself so thin that you are unable to give your best to everything you have volunteered for. You become “the one they can rely on”, in other words, you are the one that never says no! I understand, because I was once this person. I stretched myself so thin trying to be the good servant that I thought God wanted me to be that everything collapsed on top and I ended up “hiding” in a corner for awhile not doing anything at all! I had so much on my “to do” list that I wasn’t giving my best to any of it, each item was only getting what was left of me.

It was hard to learn how to say no, but eventually I did. Of course I still struggle with this word today, unless you ask my children, and they would say no was my favorite word! I realized that God cared more about the quality of my work for him rather than how much I was doing for him. We have to keep in mind that our works alone do not get us into heaven. God wants to see that our hearts are in the right place. If we collect too many things to do our plates become full and our hearts start becoming resentful for what we have to do. God knows you better than you know you! He wants you to know that it’s okay to step down from the list that you have created for yourself and choose only one job to give your all too. It’s okay to take a breather and reflect on what path he wants you to follow. It is better to give 100% to one job for our God, than to only give 10% to ten different jobs for our God! Quality is always better than quantity!

Daily Bible Verses:

Ephesians 2:8-9 “ For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast.”

Colossians 3:23 “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters,”

Galatians: 6:9 “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.”

Daily Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank you for loving me so graciously and blessing me greatly! Please help me to stay grounded in my work that I do for you, help me to remember to not take on too much so that I may not grow weary in my service to you. May all my works bring glory to your name and help to build your kingdom! Amen.

 

*This can also be read on http://www.youarejustamom.com.

About Errin

Am I middle aged? Maybe, but I’m young at heart and that’s what counts. I’m a pretty good wife and an okay mom, depending on the hour. I have six kids and most days I’m lost, late or watching Netflix. I’ve lived a lot of life and still have a lot to live and I give the best advice on just about anything, I’m just not good at taking it. So stick around and I guarantee you’ll learn something, feel understood and validated and learn how to laugh your ass off at all the crazy-this “best(ish)” life has to offer. Or you won’t and you’ll leave here thinking, “What a dip shit.” Only time will tell.

Leave a comment