Sport God’s

Standard

sport

“Do not make idols or set up an image or a sacred stone for yourselves, and do not place a carved stone in your land to bow down before it. I am the Lord your God.” Leviticus 26:1. Okay, well that is an easy one right? It should be, but there are many times when we make idols out of what we would think to be ordinary everyday things. For instance: sports, money, shopping, our favorite television show, a hobby, it could even be something as healthy as exercising, or it could be a more serious addiction such as, drugs or alcohol. An idol can be defined as a person or thing that is greatly admired, loved and worshiped. When we start letting one of these things control our way of thinking and dictate our schedules and moods, then we have given it priority in our lives and it becomes an idol.

 

I think about our family’s schedule with having six kids. Right now, only three of them are in sports regularly and it is hectic! It has slowed down this month but in the fall we had some kind of sport obligation everyday of the week, even Sunday. Between football, soccer, swim, and basketball we let ourselves lose sight of what was truly important. We became so busy that we started skipping church on Sunday and we allowed our moods to be altered by our over crammed calendar, and a lot of the times when we were talking with each other we were using rushed words with irritated tones. The love our children have for their sport and the love we have for watching them play became our idol before we even realized it.

 

When we idolize people or objects we don’t leave much room in our lives for our devotion to God. If we are too busy going to practices and games to worship our Lord, what are we saying to him? I am guilty of this, not just with the various sports in my life but with other things too. Too often I let outside sources take over my thoughts and my mood. God wants our undivided attention and when we give him our attention he shows favor in our lives. If we would just make him the center of our life, he would unscramble our schedule and check marks would start appearing on our to do list! Our lives would fall in sync with God and our limits would be limitless, our cant’s would turn into can’s, and our spirits would be filled with joy, warmth and light. God want’s to inhabit our beings 100%. Do you need to make room for him? You better get to cleaning!!

 

Bible Verses:

 

Psalm 115:4-8 “But their idols are silver and gold, made by human hands. They have mouths, but cannot speak, eyes, but cannot see. They have ears, but cannot hear, noses, but cannot smell. They have hands, but cannot feel, feet, but cannot walk, nor can they utter a sound with their throats. Those who make them will be like them, and so will all who trust in them.”

 

Colossians 3:5 “Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry.”

 

Luke 16:13  “No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.”

 

Prayer:

 

Lord, forgive me for putting objects before you. I love you Lord and I choose to serve you all the days of my life. Please show favor on my family and give me a clear view of how my days should go. Watch over my family and help us to remember to keep you at the center of our lives. In your Son’s Holy name, Amen.

About mommamamom

I am a busy mama of six kids! I love to write when I have time between little league, practices, cleaning house, grocery shopping, cooking, cleaning..... I love my husband with all my heart. I am passionate follower of GOD!

2 responses »

  1. Pray a lot! I do during spring season with my 4 boys, when I am juggling lacrosse, baseball and x-country. There is only one of me and I have to be in 3 different places back and forth within 4 hour time period . Of course, none of the fields are remotely close to each other…..ughhhh!

Leave a Reply

