Aside

Father’s Day, the one day every year women across America pretend that they are excited for their husbands to go golfing. Or in mine and Snookums case it would be fishing:) Oh yes, the one time in 365 days, except for maybe on their birthday, that we wives put a smile on our face and bite our tongues as our husbands joyfully pack down the car, ice chests, boats, back packs, whatever it may to be to go on an adventure of their choice. (REWIND) Wait who am I kidding, Father’s Day is no different than Mother’s Day, let’s be real and call it what it is…Kid’s go shopping and make big breakfast mess Day!  It is a day that, yes dad’s can do something for fun that they enjoy, but feel obligated to take their little munchkins along for the ride.

At the beginning of this post I had a different idea for where I was going with it, but the more I typed the more my thoughts started leaning in a different direction.  I had planned on writing a really funny, witty, knee slapper if you will. But like in a lot of things God had a different idea for me.  So here goes! I hope you all enjoy my Tribute to All You Good ‘Ole Boys.  Father, Pops, Dad, Daddy call him what you will but there is a pretty universal meaning to these words. We all know Dad to mean the leading male role model in one’s life.  Does this mean that a Dad has to share the same DNA with the person that calls him this? Absolutely NOT! Let’s face it, “life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get” in the father department.  Some of us were blessed with our biological Father being there from day one to the last.  Some of us were blessed to be raised by a man who didn’t have any part in the actual “making” of us but stepped up to the plate, so to speak, to help raise us.  Dads come in all shapes, colors and sizes.  I’ve seen Dad’s come in the form of Grandpas, Uncles, Brothers, Friends.  If I was a bettin’ woman I would venture out to say that we all know someone who fits in one of these categories of a Father.  In my case I have had the honor of being molded by several of these examples. Hahaha! Get your minds out of the gutter!! NO, not because my Mom was that way! My parents were very young when they had me, so growing up my Grandpa and my Uncles were my Father figures.  As I got older (and a little more accepting) I let my Stepdad have some influence in my life.  After I had children, a lifelong childhood dream came true, I reconnected with my Daddy (yep, the one that helped “make” me)!  Then of course one of the very best examples that I have of a Dad is my very own Snookums.  He has showed me everything I ever dreamed of what a good Dad would be.  Some people might look at my situation and think, Oh that poor girl.  But I look at my situation and realize that had things been different I may not have turned out to be the person I am today.  I love ALL the Father figures in my life! I know that God had a perfect plan and for whatever reason, he needed me to have My Gangy, Uncle Grumpy, Uncle Boom, Dervin, and my Dad help me in all the different stages of my life. I sometimes think that Dad’s are the unsung heroes of the family!  And, yes, I realize that sometimes mommies are pulling “double duty” in the parenting department.  Let’s just stop right here and give a SHOUT OUT to all you Mommies out there playing both roles, for whatever reason it may be. Maybe your other half is away fighting for our Freedoms or maybe he was taken from this life to soon, maybe he has to work far from home to put food on the table, or maybe its just because he is one of the “deadbeats” whatever it may be I want to say THANK YOU to you!! You may feel invisible, you may feel worn out, you may feel like no one cares or understands but let me be the one to tell you, YOU ARE NOT ALONE, Joshua 1:9 “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”  There are so many tasks that Dad’s do that go unnoticed (or at least they think they do) but us Mommies notice them.  We notice and we THANK YOU for working hard EVERY DAY, for playing catch, for having tea parties, for “babysitting” your daughters dolly, for being the official spider killer, for coaching little league, for cooking breakfast on Saturday mornings (come on we all know that’s a Dad’s job), for changing dirty diapers when we are away (notice I said when we are AWAY) LOL, for kissing booboos and for wrestling and running amuck when our favorite television shows are on (of course we all have to drop to the floor and army crawl around like we are on a raid when it’s something they want to watch) 🙂  And we thank you for the countless number of things you do that I didn’t list.  Dad’s You are AWESOME!!!!  Let’s take this time to reminisce and remember the good ‘ole days….the before I had kids days.  I have made a list of some of my favorite before and afters……..

Before:  Wife: “Hey honey will you pick up a six pack on your way home?”

Husband: “Sure babe, how bout a bottle of wine too?”

After:    Wife: “Hey honey will you pick up a six pack on your way home?”

Husband: “Sure babe, do the kids want Tangy Original or Smooth?” (Sunny D of course)

Before:  Picture Man hugging a beautiful red sports car “I shall call her Ruby”

After:     Picture Man holding his first born “I shall call him son”

Before:  The man jammed out to Snoop Dog, Dr. Dre, and Tupac

After:     Now he catches himself singing (out loud) “Do you wanna build a Snowman?” at work.

Before:   The mans idea of a good wrestling match involved mud and scantily dressed woman.

After:      The mans idea of a good wrestling match is one that ends with one of the kids NOT crying in the end!

Thank you all for reading and I hope you all have had a fabulous Father’s Day so far!! If you know Dad like one of these or a double duty pulling Momma Share this! Keep watching for more!! God Bless!!!

XOXOXO

~Mommamamom~

Father’s Day: A Tribute to All You Good ‘Ole Boys

2 responses »

  1. Thank you Errin for sharing your comments! This Father’s Day was hard being the first one without my dad here! You helped me to not just look at that, but the memories and good times I had with my dad! I think we all take our dads/ husbands for granted, so I pray everyone who reads your post will make a special effort to reconnect with their dads or call them more often just to say you love them because life is short and we are not promised tomorrow! I keep praying for the number to heaven so I can talk to my dad one more time! Just one more time! I miss him so very much!

    • You’re welcome Rachel! You came across my mind when I was writing this one. As I was trying to write something funny I just kept thinking about how Father’s Day may be hard for a few this year and I just didn’t feel right making a joke about it. I’m glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

